HND Wildlife and Conservation Management

Higher National qualifications provide practical skills and theoretical knowledge that meet the needs of employers. The HND in Wildlife and Conservation Management (SCQF level 8) builds on the knowledge and skills of the HNC Wildlife and Conservation Management and also covers the principles and practice of Education for Sustainability, tourism, sustainability and rural communities, applied interpretation, terrestrial ecology, and habitat management.

This qualification is available through colleges, training providers and some universities. Typically, an HND takes two years to complete.

Higher National qualifications have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry - so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexibility. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

There is a wide choice of optional units which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

This HN provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

The HNC and HND Wildlife and Conservation Management are suitable for a wide range of learners, including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business

Progression and employment

HNCs and HNDs can provide progression to degree-level study. For example, the HNC in Wildlife and Conservation Management allows direct entry into the second year of most related degree programmes, and the HND in Wildlife and Conservation Management allows direct entry to the third year of related programmes.

Higher National qualifications also provide the knowledge and understanding required for related Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs), for example:

  • SVQs in Environmental Conservation.

What you'll learn?

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is at the discretion of the centre. Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • Two Higher level passes at SCQF level 6 for HND entry (see Section 1).
  • An appropriate group of National Units at SCQF level 5/6. These might include, for example, Trees in the Environment, Investigating Animal Wildlife, Wildlife Conservation 1 and The Physical Landscape of Scotland, among others.
  • An appropriate vocational qualification, for example an SVQ at level 3 in a relevant subject.

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will need to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA'[s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Assessment/e-assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Group Award code: GR7N 16 (240 SCQF credit points)

HND Wildlife and Conservation Management at SCQF level 8 consists of 15 mandatory units (120 SCQF credit points) and a number of optional units (120 SCQF points).