PDA Leading Change SCQF level 9

The Professional Development Award (PDA) in Leading Change at SCQF level 9 offers candidates the opportunity to develop their management competence in a specific aspect of managerial work, ie 'facilitating change', which is one of the six areas of competence identified by the standards setting body, Council for Administration (CFA).

This PDA concentrates on sources of change stemming from new ideas, as well as the commitment which managers need to lead and support people through the implementation stage of the change cycle. The emphasis in this PDA is developing competences which enable managers to take control and drive forward both the generation of new ideas and the changes which normally follow from them.

This qualification is available through colleges and training providers.

Jointly certificated by SQA and the Chartered Management Institute (CMI).

The PDA in Leading Change is part of the S/NVQ framework and is, therefore, work based. Candidates will be supported by a qualified assessor and can work through the qualification at their own pace. However, it is likely that assessment plans between assessor and candidate will agree target dates for completion of specific parts of each Unit.

Some features of the PDA are:

  • it is a nationally-recognised qualification
  • it can be achieved at work
  • there are no formal entry requirements
  • it provides recognition of management competence
  • it enables progression within the Management S/NVQ framework

The main target groups for the PDA in Leading Change are people who are currently employed in management posts, predominantly at first line, team leading and middle management levels. The PDA in Leading Change consists of SVQ Units, which are workplace Units. To be eligible for these Units, candidates must have current occupational experience in a management role and be able to generate the relevant Evidence Requirements.

Successful candidates can gain membership of the Chartered Management Institute (CMI) which means that they can become part of the professional community of managers and can benefit from the development opportunities this can bring.

Candidates who complete this PDA will have gained the following:

  • two of the eight Units of the full SVQ 4 Management at SCQF level 9
  • one of the seven Units of the full SVQ 5 Management at SCQF level 11

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.


Assessment Strategy for PDAs in Leadership and Management.

Candidates will gather evidence of their performance through normal workplace activity, in line with the requirements of the PDA. This evidence will be assessed.

Usual workplace assessment methods will apply, such as use of observation, examining of work products, testimonial evidence from witnesses, Accreditation of Prior Learning, etc.

Group Award code: GC6G 49 (27 SCQF credit points)
SCQF level: 9

The PDA in Leading Change at SCQF level 9 consists of two mandatory Units:

Encourage Innovation in Your Area of Responsibility — FD3G 04
Lead Change — FM4T 04

To assist with knowledge requirements, SQA has produced a range of support materials for SVQs in Management and the suite of PDAs in Management (consisting of SVQ Units). Your centre's SQA Co-ordinator will have access to these support materials on SQA's secure website. Please approach them for access. The attached document shows support materials currently available for all SQA's Management Awards (40 KB)