SVQ Community Development SCQF levels 5, 6 and 8

The Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs) in Community Development at SCQF levels 5, 6 and 8 allow candidates to demonstrate competence in job-related skills in their area of work and expertise.

These qualifications cover areas such as Getting to Know Communities; Supporting Incusive and Collective Working; Self Development; Organising Community Events and Activities; and Advising on Organisational Structures Using Community Development Perspectives.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards. SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that National Occupational Standards (NOS) are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish communities.

This qualification is available through employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

Successful candidates will gain an internationally-recognised qualification that guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully. Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

Assessment is carried out in the workplace, which minimises any time candidates would need to be away from their work.

Candidates can progress to a range of qualifications including the HNC in Working with Communities.

The SVQs can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)
  • open and distance learning.


Who does this qualification suit

The SVQs are suitable for:

  • those who have just left school or adult returners who wish to work in the community sector
  • individuals who are currently in employment or volunteering and who wish to obtain a formal qualification that recognises their experience, knowledge and skills


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement, or volunteering, in a role where they are carrying out tasks and responsibilities which allow them to gather the required evidence.

No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake this qualification.


Achievment of the awards could provide progression to:

  • an HNC in Working with Communities or a related area
  • a PDA in Volunteering Management at SCQF level 8
  • degree level study at a higher education institution
  • employment in a local authority or third sector, perhaps as a community development worker.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority must come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide (510 KB). The specific delivery requirements are set out in the Assessment Strategy.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs (523 KB). For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the Assessment Strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

The SVQ in Community Development at SCQF level 5 consists of four mandatory units and one optional unit.

For details of the units making up the SVQ, please refer to the Qualification Structure (64 KB).

The SVQ in Community Development at SCQF level 6 consists of five mandatory units and one optional unit.

For details of the units making up the SVQ, please refer to the Qualification Structure (69 KB).

The SVQ in Community Development Work at SCQF level 8 consists of five mandatory units and two optional units.

For details of the units making up the SVQ, please refer to the Qualification Structure.

SVQ Community Development Work at SCQF Level 8 - Structure (66 KB)

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

SVQs in Community Development - Core Skills Signposting (119 KB)

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Useful links

Skills Development Scotland Logo