SVQ Providing Financial Services SCQF level 5

The Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ) in Providing Financial Services at SCQF level 5 allows candidates to demonstrate competence in job-related skills in their particular area of work and expertise.

This qualification covers areas such as banks and building societies, customer payments for financial products/services, insurance, investment operations, pensions, financing and credit, mortgage and financial planning, as well as general areas such as customer care and sales.

This qualification has been designed in partnership with the Skills for Justice Sector Skills Council to ensure relevance to the sector.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards (NOS). SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that NOS are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish industries.

This qualification is available through employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

Upon successful completion, learners will gain an internationally recognised qualification, which guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully. Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

As assessment is carried out in the workplace, thereby minimising any time learners would need to be away from their work.

Candidates can progress to a range of qualifications, including HNC/D in Financial Services or professional body qualifications.

The SVQ can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time (in the workplace, for those taking this as part of a Modern Apprenticeship)
  • part-time (eg day-release)

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for:

  • learners who may have just left school
  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities, which allow them to gather the required evidence.

However, the recommended entry requirements are formal qualifications in Mathematics and English at SCQF level 4 or 5.

Examples of formal entry qualifications:

  • National 4 or 5 in English and Mathematics
  • Most employers will expect candidates to have a keen interest in financial and business affairs


The level 5 award could provide progression to:

  • an HNC/HND in Financial Services or a related area
  • an SVQ in Professional Services at SCQF level 8
  • employment in the financial services sector, perhaps as a claims-handling administrator, banking cashier, banking call centre adviser or investment information administrator


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority are required to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs. For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the assessment strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

The SVQ Providing Financial Services at SCQF level 5 consists of three mandatory units and three optional units.

For details of the units making up the SVQ, please refer to the qualification structure (112 KB).

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Modern Apprenticeships

This SVQ is a mandatory component in the Level 2 Modern Apprenticeship in Providing Financial Services (SCQF level 5).

SQA also offers the following components of this apprenticeship: units from the SVQ Customer Service at SCQF level 5 (GL0F 22) and the core skills.

Unit Title SCQF 4
Core Skills: Communication F426 04
Core Skills: Numeracy F42A 04
Core Skills: Information and Communication Technology F42E 04
Core Skills: Problem Solving F42J 04
Core Skills: Working with Others F42N 04

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material