Conveyancing/Probate Law and Practice

SQA are experts in developing relevant qualifications delivering the real skills, knowledge and progression routes in demand by employers and learners alike.

SQA offers five Regulated qualifications for England and Wales in this area:


These qualifications are jointly awarded with the Council for Licensed Conveyancers (CLC).

On successful completion of a Level 4 Diploma, learners will be able to apply to register with the CLC as a probate or conveyancing technician, which will provide an intermediate level of professional recognition whilst they continue their Level 6 Diploma studies.

Achievement of the Level 6 Diploma, along with 1200 hours of practical experience, will meet CLC's eligibility criteria to apply for a licence, to provide probate or conveyancing services to the public as a CLC lawyer.

The qualifications are based on standards set by CLC and can be taken as part of an Apprenticeship at Technician or Practitioner Level.Certification

Certification for candidates who achieve the full CLC Diploma takes place twice weekly, every Monday and Wednesday.

Certification for candidates who achieve a unit component takes place twice monthly, the first and third Thursday of the month. Unit certificates will only be produced if there are no other un-resulted qualifications (units or courses) on the candidates record.

Learn more about our conveyancing and probate qualifications (460 KB)

Qualification Verification Summary Reports

Thinking of offering an SQA qualification?

Find out the benefits of partnering with us and discover how we can help you.

Learn about delivering SQA Qualifications

Rather speak to someone? Call us on 0303 333 0330