Regulated Qualification SQA Level 6 Diploma in Probate Law and Practice

Regulated Qualification SQA Level 6 Diploma in Probate Law and Practice

Regulated qualifications extend or broaden professional or vocational skills and are linked to the national apprenticeship standards. The regulated qualification Probate Law and Practice at level 6 covers all the high level, specialised skills associated with the legalities surrounding inheritance and the administration of wills and estates in England and Wales.

This qualification covers areas such as grants of representation, administration of estates, and managing client and office accounts.

This qualification is available through colleges, training providers and some employers. It has been designed to be delivered as a taught course and will normally be available as a combination of face to face delivery and/or self-directed study.

Why deliver this qualification

The regulated qualification, SQA level 6 Diploma in Probate Law and Practice has been developed in partnership with SQA and the Council for Licensed Conveyancers after consultation with CLC and SQA subject specialists so it is appropriate for the legal services sector.

It will help employers meet skills gaps and provide continuing professional development for staff, while candidates will gain knowledge and skills needed for progression in the workplace.

It can also be offered to people who wish to gain employment in the sector.

The unit-based structure aids timetable flexibility. Units are typically 150 hours of total learning and they can be delivered on a full-time or part-time basis.

This regulated qualification provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The target audience is those in work, or seeking employment, who require a specific skill set in order to become a licensed probate practitioner, for example. probate legal technicians.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre. However, it is a pre-requisite that candidates hold one of the following:

  • a regulated qualification, eg SQA level 4 Diploma Probate Law and Practice
  • Batchelor of Laws degree (LLB)
  • postgraduate qualification, eg Graduate Diploma in Law (GDL)
  • CILEx qualification levels 6
  • legal practice course (diploma level – various*)

*Please refer to the SQA/CLC exemption information/table for further details


Candidates would have the opportunity of progressing to become a licensed probate practitioner after having achieved the level 6 qualification along with 1200 hours of practical experience (equivalent to one year of practical experience in a legal services practice working on a full-time basis, longer if part-time.)


Centres require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification Structure

The qualification requires the learner to complete 3 mandatory Units.

Group Award code:  GL7L 86  (43 credit points)

For information on the structure of this qualification, please refer to the Qualification Structure.

SQA level 6 Diploma in Probate Law and Practice Structure (56 KB)

Unit specifications and Assessment Guidance

Unit specifications and Assessment Guidance for these qualifications are available on SQA's Secure website. These are available from your centre’s SQA Co-ordinator. For further information, please contact

Assessment Strategy

An assessment strategy has been produced for this qualification.

SQA/CLC Qualifications Assessment Strategy (244 KB)

Assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Qualification Specification

Information for exempt students

Support materials