Award Modern Languages for Life and Work SCQF level 6

The Modern Languages for Life and Work Award at SCQF level 6 will develop knowledge and skills in areas such as society, culture and employability. Learners can specialise in one or two modern languages.

This Award meets the principles of Curriculum for Excellence.

This qualification covers areas such as communication, self-awareness, confidence, leadership and independent learning.

This qualification is available through schools, colleges, community organisations and volunteer-involving organisations.

Why deliver this qualification

This Award has a wide potential market. It is open to all learners, regardless of age, academic experience or ability.

Centres have the flexibility to choose the delivery method which best suits their circumstances and their learners.

The Award can be used to offer a progression pathway to other qualifications (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The Modern Languages for Life and Work Award at SCQF level 6 is suitable for:

  • S4–S6 pupils
  • school leavers
  • college students
  • adult returners to education
  • trainees preparing for employment
  • employees studying as part of a continuing professional development programme
  • people in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects


Entry to this Award is at the discretion of the centre. It can be accessed by learners from S4 to S6 or, indeed, learners in full-time education or other vocational centres.

Prior learning in the subject is not essential although the Award provides opportunities for learners to build on prior learning experienced in a broad general education or in a modern languages qualification at a lower SCQF level.


The Award may provide progression to:

  • Modern Languages for Life and Work Award at SCQF level 6 in one or two other modern languages
  • Modern Languages Courses at SCQF level 6
  • Modern Languages for Work Purposes units in the same modern language at SCQF level 7
  • Modern Languages for Work Purposes units in another modern language at SCQF level 6
  • National Certificates


Centres interested in offering this qualification are required to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide. The specific delivery requirements are set out in the group award specification (Arrangements Document).

How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Awards are not graded.

Evidence can be presented in any form appropriate to the contexts chosen for assessment and for the learner. This evidence may be paper-based (responses to questions in English or the target language, extended pieces of writing, folios) or recorded (oral, visual or electronic). Performance evidence must be supported by assessor observation checklists and/or oral questions and assessor records of learners’ responses. Learners may also provide evidence through audio recordings, video diaries, blogs or other electronic means. The specific evidence requirements for all contributing units can be found in each unit specification.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification structure

Group Award code: GR4X 46

The Award in Modern Languages for Life and Work at SCQF level 6 consists of  three mandatory units (15 SCQF credit points).

At SCQF level 6, learners must complete the following three mandatory units:

Unit title SQA credit SCQF credit points SCQF level
Modern Languages for Life 1 6 6
Modern Languages for Work Purposes 1 6 6
Leadership: an introduction 0.5 3 6

Group award specification