Regulated Qualification SQA level 4 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice

Regulated Qualification SQA level 4 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice

Regulated qualifications extend or broaden professional or vocational skills and are linked to the national apprenticeship standards.

This qualification covers generic areas such as the English legal system, law of contract, land law, understanding accounting procedures for conveyancing transactions and standard conveyancing transactions.

This qualification is available through colleges, training providers and some employers. It has been designed to be delivered as a taught course and will be available as a combination of face to face delivery and/or self-directed study.

Why deliver this qualification

The regulated qualification, SQA level 4 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice has been developed in partnership with SQA and the Council for Licensed Conveyancers after consultation with CLC and SQA subject specialists so it is appropriate for the legal services sector.

It will help employers meet skills gaps and provide continuing professional development for staff, while candidates will gain knowledge and skills needed for progression in the workplace.

It can also be offered to people who wish to gain employment in the sector.

The unit-based structure aids timetable flexibility. Units are typically 120 hours of total learning and they can be delivered on a full-time or part-time basis.

This regulated qualification provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The target audience is those in work, or seeking employment, who require a specific skill set.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates do not need to have formal relevant qualifications to enter this regulated qualification. Good communication skills, both oral and written, are required. Current experience of working within a legal practice setting would be advantageous but is not mandatory..


This regulated qualification is a mandatory component in the Conveyancing Technician Apprenticeship..

More information on the end-point assessment for this Apprenticeship


Candidates would have the opportunity of progressing to the regulated qualification: SQA level 6 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice.


Centres require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and internal verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Assessment Strategy

An assessment strategy has been produced for this qualification.

SQA/CLC Qualifications Assessment Strategy (244 KB)

Assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Qualification Structure

The qualification requires the learner to complete 5 mandatory Units.

Group Award code: GL7H 53  (50 credit points)

For information on the structure of this qualification, please refer to the Qualification Structure.

Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice (Regulated)Qualification Structure

SQA Level 4 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice Structure (58 KB)

Unit specifications and Assessment Guidance

Unit specifications and Assessment Guidance for these qualifications are available on SQA's Secure website. These are available from your centre’s SQA Co-ordinator. For further information, please contact

Guidance Document

Qualification Specification

Additional Information

Transitioning and exemption information