SQA organisation structure

Our activities are directed by an Executive Management Team (EMT) who have responsiblity for the major functions of SQA. These functions include awarding our own qualifications, and accrediting and regulating the activity of other awarding bodies. This function is overseen by our Accreditation Committee, a statutory committee established by the Education (Scotland) Act 1996.

Our Corporate Plan, is developed by the EMT, with direction provided by the Board of Management, and in consultation with Scottish Government. EMT oversees the implementation of the plan, and provides progress reports for the Board. Our Advisory Council, (appointed by Scottish Government) represents our stakeholders and consider and advise SQA on their needs and views in relation to our qualifications.

The organisation's functions are split across eight directorates:

Chief Executive

Fiona Robertson


Business Development: John McMorris

Business Systems: Martin Campbell (Interim)

Communications: John Booth

Finance and Corporate Services: Michael Baxter

Operations: Jean Blair

People: Dawnne Mahmoud

Policy, Analysis and Standard: Vacant

Qualifications Development: Gill Stewart

Accreditation: George Brown

Business Development and Customer Support: Alastair MacRae

Contract Operations: John Wallace

International: Alistair Shaw

Opportunity Appraisal and Bid Management: Cheryl Matheson

Test Operations Services: Jacqueline Campbell

Applications Solutions: Vacant

Data Solutions: Sean Preston

Planning, Governance and Compliance: Martin Hughes

Service Delivery: Stephen Sharkey

Strategic Design: Vacant

Chief Executive’s Office: Stephen Borley

Communications and Engagement: Kat Hannah

Marketing: Stuart McLaren

Finance: Alan Dickson

Finance Systems: Caroline Clark

Procurement: Justin Lilley

Strategic Planning and Governance: Yazmin Raven

Higher National and Vocational Qualifications: Denise Monteith

NQ Delivery: Assessment & Data Services: Rhona Wright

Operations – Process Improvement: Vacant

Operations – Logistics and Customer Engagement: Martin Ingram

QA (NQ): Margot McKerrell

Appointee Management: Jacqui Faulds

Human Resources: Sharon Coyle

OD & Change Management: Elaine Gourlay

People Analytics, Governance and Systems: Brian Murray

People Reward and Equality: Alison Caldwell

Data and Analytics: Stephen Price (Interim)

Research, Policy, Standards and Statistics: Martyn Ware

Assessment Development and Delivery: Digital Assessment Services: Graeme Clark

Creative, Hospitality and Sport: Margaret Paterson

English, Language and Business: Robert Quinn

Humanities, Care and Services: Iain Morrison

Next Generation Qualifications and Standards: Valerie Innes

Qualifications Portfolio Management: Liz McGrath

Science, Mathematics and Core Skills: Sue Pope

Technology, Engineering and Construction: Alan Ogg