SQA Advisory Council

The SQA Advisory Council was established under the Scottish Qualifications Authority Act 2002 as a body independent from the SQA Board to consider and provide advice to the SQA and Scottish Ministers.

The Advisory Council is a unique partnership that provides a representation of SQA's stakeholders. The Council’s primary role is to consider and advise on matters relating to SQA’s qualifications, awards and functions.

The aim of the Council is to offer sound and well-informed advice to SQA on the needs and views of stakeholders as well as working in such a way that recognises and involves key stakeholders as part of a commitment to openness.

Advisory Council Members

Jane Handley
Convenor (SQA Board member)
Grahame Smith
SQA Board member
Tim Frew
Chief Executive
YouthLink Scotland
Diane Greenlees
Skills Development Scotland
Colm Harmon
Vice Principal
Edinburgh University
Iain Hawker
Assistant Principal
Fife College
Sonia Kordiak
Member (Education Committee)
Educational Institute of Scotland
David Macdonald
Stuart McKenna
Chief Executive
Scottish Training Federation
Stewart Nicolson
Head of Education (Senior Phase), South Lanarkshire Council