Qualifications for Assessors and Verifiers

Learning and Development image.SQA qualifications for assessors and verifiers are individual SVQ Units and workplace Professional Development Awards (PDAs), available at SCQF levels 8 and 9. Centres register candidates for either an SVQ Unit or the corresponding PDA. SQA is also accredited by Ofqual.

Why deliver this qualification

The SVQ Units for assessors and verifiers mirror the National Occupational Standards (NOS).  These standards have been developed by LLUK (Lifelong Learning UK) to meet the occupational requirements of workplace assessors and internal verifiers across the UK. The SVQ Units mirror these requirements.

These standards for assessors and internal verifiers are the benchmark qualifications for assessors and internal verifiers across all occupational areas and ensure consistency in the application of quality assurance in the workplace.

Who does this qualification suit

These qualifications are for all workplace assessors and internal verifiers of regulated qualifications such as SVQs in all occupational sectors.

For further information please visit:


SQA Approval Guidance for SCQF Workplace and non-workplace Assessor and Verifier qualifications and SVQs in Learning and Development (377 KB)

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Support materials


Evidence Trackers

Other documents

CPD Toolkit and Templates

CPD Templates for Assessors and Verifiers of SVQs in L&D and L&D9D/9DI and L&D11

Guidance and templates for assessors or verifiers to identify and put forward CPD evidence to demonstrate working in line with L&D10 Unit – Reflect on, Develop and Maintain Own Skills and Practice in Learning and Development.

CPD Toolkit for all Workplace Assessors and Internal Verifiers

This toolkit is designed to help previously qualified workplace assessors (all occupational areas), identify and confirm that they practise in line with the current national standards in assessment - L&D9, and internal verification - L&D11.

Guidance on Recognition of Prior Learning for Qualified Assessors and Internal Verifiers

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Candidate Guidance and Portfolio

Qualification Verification Summary Reports

Professional development workshops

We run professional development workshops to introduce delegates to SQA qualifications for assessors and verifiers.

Explore the available workshops and find out how to book

Current Assessor/Verifier Units

Standard Unit code Unit SCQF Level SCQF Credit Group Award code
L&D9D FD40 04 Assess Workplace Competence Using Direct Methods (92 KB) 7 8 GA28 47
L&D9DI FD41 04 Assess Workplace Competence Using Direct and Indirect Methods (99 KB) 8 10 GA2E 48
L&D11 FD43 04 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Workplace Assessment (92 KB) 8 12 GA2F 48
L&D12 FD44 04 Externally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Workplace Assessment (90 KB) 9 12 GA2G 49