PDAs in Management and Leadership

SQA offers a range of Professional Development Awards (PDAs) in Management and Leadership. These are short focused awards, each made up of two Units. There are two suites of Management PDAs:

  • One suite is based on Higher National Units (Capability Suite). These awards are designed to develop knowledge, skills and understanding of the principles of management. They are not only relevant to employees already in management positions, but also to those aspiring to a managerial role.
  • The other suite of Management and Leadership PDAs is made up of SVQ Units (Competency Suite). These awards not only develop knowledge and understanding, but also allow candidates to demonstrate occupational competence in a range of management activities through proof of actual performance in the workplace.

Candidates may attempt a PDA as an end in itself to meet a specific management development need; undertake more than one PDA as part of a programme of management development; or use one or more PDA as a stepping stone to further awards, eg HNC/Diploma in Management and Leadership or SVQs Management. The Management and Leadership PDAs range from SCQF level 6 (Higher) to SCQF level 11(Masters) and are jointly certificated with the Chartered Management Institute (CMI).

Candidates are able to take advantage of 12 months free studying membership from CMI.

Our flexible PDAs

Our flexible Professional Development Awards in Leadership and Management (151 KB)

Competency Suite

Capability Suite

Internal Assessment Reports

Approval to deliver PDAs in Management and Leadership

Centres with devolved authority are eligible to seek approval through their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact the Business Development Team for guidance in completing the combined CA1/SA1 form.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements as outlined in the guide to approval.

Information sheet(s)

Support Materials

SQA has produced a range of support materials for its Management qualifications, including the PDAs in Management. Your centre's SQA Contact will have access to these support materials on SQA's secure website. Please approach them for access. The attached document shows support materials currently available for all SQA's Management Awards (40 KB).

Assessment Strategy