PDA Sexual Health Training SCQF level 7

Professional Development Awards (PDAs) extend or broaden professional or vocational skills and are linked to National Occupational Standards.

The PDA in Sexual Health Training at SCQF level 7 is an introduction to sexual health training and experiential learning in sexual health training.

This qualification is aimed at people who need to deliver sexual health training to trainers. For example, those working, or aiming to work, in the sexual health sector with young people or people with a history of drug and alcohol misuse, or people with mental health issues or learning disabilities. It is also suitable for people who are already training in this field who wish to update or improve their knowledge and expertise and/or obtain a qualification.

This qualification is available through colleges, training providers and some employers. It has been designed to be delivered as a taught course and will normally be available as a combination of workshops and self-directed study.

This qualification has been developed in partnership with Terrence Higgins Trust Scotland.

The PDA in Sexual Health at SCQF level 7 has been developed in partnership with employers and industry.

It will help employers meet skills gaps and provide continuing professional development for staff, while learners will gain knowledge and skills needed for progression in the workplace.

It can also be offered to people who are in training and who wish to gain employment in the sector.

The unit-based structure aids timetable flexibility. Units are typically 40 hours of learning and they can be delivered on a full-time or part-time basis.

The target audience is those in work, or seeking employment, who require a specific skill set.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Learners do not need to have formal relevant qualifications to enter this PDA. Good communication skills, both oral and written, are required. Current experience as a health/social care worker within a health/social care setting would be advantageous.

The units in the PDA have been mapped against the National Occupational Standards for Learning and Development.

Learners would have the opportunity of progressing to other PDAs, which could perhaps lead to an SVQ in Social Services and Healthcare or Healthcare Support at Level 3.

Centres require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and Verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Each unit is assessed separately.

Assessment will allow candidates to enhance their own practice. 

Group award code: GL59 47 (16 SCQF credit points)

The PDA in Sexual Health Training at SCQF level 7 consists of two mandatory units.

Group award specification

Terrence Higgins Trust logo